Electrocardiogram

If your pulse is irregular, your doctor may suspect that you have AF whether you feel symptoms or not. If this is the case, your doctor may send you for an electrocardiogram (an ECG) and/or refer you to a cardiologist to confirm the diagnosis.1,2,4,7

Watch a short animation on what to expect from an ECG

 An ECG is a simple and painless test that measures your heart’s electrical signals and assesses its rhythm

An ECG usually takes about 5 minutes and is usually carried out by a specially trained healthcare professional at a hospital, a clinic or at your general practice (GP).4,7 Sometimes your ECG may take place on the same day that you visit your doctor – but sometimes it might take a few days to get an appointment.

test

During this test, small sensors – the electrodes – will be placed onto your skin

These sensors allow the device to measure the electrical signals that your heart produces every time it beats to assess your heart’s rhythm.4 These sensors are attached to wires, which will transmit the signals from your heart to a recording device.7 Often, the sensors will be placed on your chest, but they may be also placed on your shoulders and ankles.4,7 Although the test itself is painless, you might find the adhesive from the sensors irritating if you have sensitive skin.7

test

To help the sensors stay on:7

  • Avoid using skin creams or lotions beforehand
  • You may need to shave your chest

test

You do not need to do anything special to prepare for the test

You can eat as normal,7 but you should try to avoid things that contain caffeine – like coffee, tea, or fizzy drinks – as caffeine can make your heart beat faster.

An ECG machine usually shows your heart’s rhythm and activity graphically on a monitor

This graph can then be printed on paper, and when the test is complete, the information about your heart will be stored electronically by the machine and your doctor can look at the results.7 It may take some time until you get the results of your ECG – but do not worry! Sometimes your results may need to be looked at by a specialist to spot any small irregularities.7

Sometimes an arrhythmia cannot be detected, even if your heart has felt fluttery on other days

If you have had symptoms of AF and a standard ECG has not detected an arrythmia, your doctor may also look at whether you have paroxysmal AF. This means that you have an irregular heartbeat that does not happen all of the time.8 The symptoms of paroxysmal AF may come and go spontaneously – and, if you have an AF episode, your heartbeat will usually return to normal within 7 days without any treatment. Often, this happens within 48 hours.2 If this is your case, it can feel very frustrating that your irregular heartbeat has not been detected during your ECG.

If your doctor suspects you have paroxysmal AF, they may suggest you take home a portable device to wear for longer periods of time

This device can record your heartbeat over several days, or even weeks, and provides a better chance that your irregular heartbeat will be detected.7,8 With this information, your doctor can make the right diagnosis and create an informed treatment plan for you.

test

Other tests may be carried out alongside an ECG to help confirm an AF diagnosis

These include (among others):

  • An echocardiogram, which is an ultrasound scan of the heart used to measure the structure and function of the heart and valves – this test uses sound waves and a computer to create a moving picture of your heart and it can help identify any other heart-related problems7,9
  • A chest X-ray, which helps identify any lung problems that may be causing AF4
  • Blood tests, which can help your doctor find out what might be causing your AF – these tests may check for anaemia, infection, thyroid and kidney problems, signs of a heart attack, and more9
  • A stress test, which is a test that puts extra stress on your heart to see how it responds to working hard and beating fast9
  • If your doctor suspects you have paroxysmal AF: 2,10-12
    • A 24-hour ECG recorder, also called Holter monitor or ambulatory ECG monitor, which is a device that records your heart’s electrical signals continuously – this test is often recommended for home use over periods from 24 hours to 2 weeks in order to detect asymptomatic or symptomatic AF episodes that do not occur all the time, and are therefore difficult to detect with a regular ECG test
    • An ECG event recorder, which is a device that detects symptomatic AF episodes that do not occur very often

1.Heart Foundation. Clinical fact sheet: atrial fibrillation screening and diagnosis work up. February 2019. Available at https://www.heartfoundation.org.au/getmedia/44a3ff91-01a7-4ee6-bb2c-cd50ddd79cb2/Clinical_Fact_Sheet_-_AF.pdf. Last accessed November 2020.

2. NICE NG196. Atrial fibrillation: diagnosis and management. 2021. Available at https://www.nice.org.uk/guidance/ng196/resources/atrial-fibrillation-diagnosis-and-management-pdf-66142085507269. Last accessed May 2021.

3. Taggar JS et al. Eur J Prev Cardiol 2016; 23: 1330-1338.

4. NHS. Diagnosis – atrial fibrillation. April 2018. Available at https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/atrial-fibrillation/diagnosis/. Last accessed November 2020.

5. PeaceHealth. Pulse Measurement – Test overview. March 2019. Available at https://www.peacehealth.org/medical-topics/id/hw233473. Last accessed November 2020.

6. Arrhythmia Alliance. Know Your Pulse Factsheet. April 2009; reviewed January 2017. Available at https://www.heartrhythmalliance.org/resources/view/389/pdf. Last accessed November 2020.

7. NHS. Electrocardiogram (ECG). June 2018. Available at https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/electrocardiogram/. Last accessed November 2020.

8 PMS Instruments. Why You Should Use ECG Event Recorders in Primary Care. October 2014. Available at https://www.pmsinstruments.co.uk/blog/why-you-should-use-ecg-event-recorders-in-primary-care/. Last accessed November 2020.

9. WebMD. How Atrial Fibrillation Is Diagnosed. May 2018. Available at https://www.webmd.com/heart-disease/atrial-fibrillation/afib-diagnosis#1. Last accessed November 2020.

10. British Heart Foundation. ECG. Available at https://www.bhf.org.uk/informationsupport/tests/ecg. Last accessed November 2020.

11. Galli A, et al. Arrhythm Electrophysiol 2016; 5: 136-143.

12. ECG event recorder (R test). Royal Brompton & Harefield NHS Foundation Trust. Available at https://www.rbht.nhs.uk/our-services/ecg-event-recorder-r-test. Last accessed November 2020.

PP-ELI-HKG-0645 JUN 2021

心電圖測試

無論是否有症狀,醫生如發現病人的脈搏不規則,便會懷疑病人患有房顫,可能會安排心電圖測試及/或轉介至心臟科醫生以作診斷。1,2,4,7

觀看短片﹐了解如何利用心電圖診斷心房顫動

心電圖是一項用來測量心臟電波及評估心律的測試,過程簡單無痛

心電圖測試通常需時五分鐘,在醫院、診所或普通科門診診所,由受過特別培訓的醫療專業人士進行。4,7 有時可能會在約見醫生的同一天接受心電圖測試,但有時可能要等上數天才能成功預約時間。

test

測試時,一些小型感應器(電極)會被放在病人皮膚上

這些感應器能讓記錄儀測量心臟在跳動時所發出的電波,從而評估心律。4 感應器會連接上電線,讓電波從心臟傳導至記錄儀。7 通常感應器會放在胸前,但也可能放在肩膊或腳踝上。4,7 雖然測試過程無痛,但如果病人有敏感性皮膚,感應器上的黏性物料可能會造成刺激。7

test

為防止感應器脫落﹕7

  • 應避免在測試前塗上潤膚乳液或乳霜
  • 可能需要剃淨胸毛
test

測試前無需作任何特別準備

病人可以照常飲食,7 但應該避免飲用咖啡、茶或汽水等含咖啡因的飲品,因為咖啡因會令心跳加速。

心電圖記錄儀通常會以圖表的形式,透過螢幕顯示心律及心電活動

此圖表隨後可列印在紙上。測試完畢後,與心臟有關的資訊將以電子形式儲存在記錄儀中,方便醫生查閱。7 病人可能需要等候一段時間才能收到測試結果,但請放心!有時測試結果需要由專科醫生查閱,以觀察是否有細微異樣。7

有時即使曾經感到心臟震顫,心電圖也未必能偵測到心律不正

如果病人曾經房顫發作,而一般心電圖未能偵測到心律不正,醫生可能會留意病人是否患有陣發性房顫,即心跳並非長時間持續不規則。8 陣發性房顫的症狀可能隨時出現及消失,而且如果發作,患者心跳通常無需任何治療便會在七天內回復正常,較多時候會在48小時內回復正常。2 在此情況下,如果心電圖未能偵測出不規則的心跳,的確會令病人十分苦惱。

醫生可能會為懷疑患有陣發性房顫的病人提供一部隨身裝置,並建議配戴一段較長的時間

此裝置可以連續數天甚至數週記錄心跳,因此有更大機會偵測出不規則的心跳。7,8 醫生可以利用這些紀錄作出正確的診斷,並制定完善的治療方案。

test

其他測試可與心電圖同步進行,以幫助確診房顫

當中包括(但不限於):

  • 心臟超聲波掃描﹕利用超聲波作心臟掃描,用以評估心臟和心瓣膜的結構及功能。這項檢查運用聲波及電腦產生心臟的動態圖像,有助找出任何其他與心臟有關的問7,9
  • 胸肺X光檢查﹕這項檢查有助找出任何可能導致房顫的肺部問4
  • 血液檢查﹕有助醫生找出可能導致房顫的原因。此類測試可以檢測貧血、感染、甲狀腺及腎臟問題、心臟病發作的徵兆9
  • 壓力測試﹕透過加重心臟負荷,觀察心臟在劇烈運動且心跳加快時的反9
  • 如果醫生懷疑病人患有陣發性房顫﹕2,10-12
    • 24小時動態心電圖﹕又稱「動態心電圖」,是一部可持續記錄心臟電波的儀器。此測試建議在家中進行,持續監測24小時至兩星期,以偵測一般心電圖難以偵測的房顫,即無症狀或有症狀但並非時常發作的房顫
    • 心電圖事件監測器﹕此儀器能偵測有症狀但發作頻率較低的房顫

1.Heart Foundation. Clinical fact sheet: atrial fibrillation screening and diagnosis work up. February 2019. Available at https://www.heartfoundation.org.au/getmedia/44a3ff91-01a7-4ee6-bb2c-cd50ddd79cb2/Clinical_Fact_Sheet_-_AF.pdf. Last accessed November 2020.

2. NICE NG196. Atrial fibrillation: diagnosis and management. 2021. Available at https://www.nice.org.uk/guidance/ng196/resources/atrial-fibrillation-diagnosis-and-management-pdf-66142085507269. Last accessed May 2021.

3. Taggar JS et al. Eur J Prev Cardiol 2016; 23: 1330-1338.

4. NHS. Diagnosis – atrial fibrillation. April 2018. Available at https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/atrial-fibrillation/diagnosis/. Last accessed November 2020.

5. PeaceHealth. Pulse Measurement – Test overview. March 2019. Available at https://www.peacehealth.org/medical-topics/id/hw233473. Last accessed November 2020.

6. Arrhythmia Alliance. Know Your Pulse Factsheet. April 2009; reviewed January 2017. Available at https://www.heartrhythmalliance.org/resources/view/389/pdf. Last accessed November 2020.

7. NHS. Electrocardiogram (ECG). June 2018. Available at https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/electrocardiogram/. Last accessed November 2020.

8 PMS Instruments. Why You Should Use ECG Event Recorders in Primary Care. October 2014. Available at https://www.pmsinstruments.co.uk/blog/why-you-should-use-ecg-event-recorders-in-primary-care/. Last accessed November 2020.

9. WebMD. How Atrial Fibrillation Is Diagnosed. May 2018. Available at https://www.webmd.com/heart-disease/atrial-fibrillation/afib-diagnosis#1. Last accessed November 2020.

10. British Heart Foundation. ECG. Available at https://www.bhf.org.uk/informationsupport/tests/ecg. Last accessed November 2020.

11. Galli A, et al. Arrhythm Electrophysiol 2016; 5: 136-143.

12. ECG event recorder (R test). Royal Brompton & Harefield NHS Foundation Trust. Available at https://www.rbht.nhs.uk/our-services/ecg-event-recorder-r-test. Last accessed November 2020.

PP-ELI-HKG-0644 JUN 2021