What is AF
Take care of your heart early, put your mind at ease

Atrial fibrillation – also known as AF or AFib – is a common heart condition that causes an irregularand often abnormally rapid heart rhythm (arrhythmia), caused when electrical signals fire off from different places in the upper chambers of the heart in a chaotic way.1-3

Articles
sub_contnet_image
Medication

If you have been diagnosed with AF, you may need treatment to help reduce your risk of a stroke together with medicines and/or procedures to treat your AF or its underlying cause. If this is the case, your doctor may prescribe you a type of medicine known as an oral anticoagulant, often called a ‘blood thinner’.4

Learn More

sub_contnet_image
Bleeding Management

If you are on anticoagulants, you may bleed more easily. Anticoagulants are used to slow down the formation of blood clots that cause strokes. They can also make it harder for new blood clots to form. This may help reduce your risk of a stroke.4 However, this also means that you may bleed more easily- especially if you fall or hurt yourself - and any bleeding, if it happens, may take longer to stop.4,5

Learn More

1. Mayo Clinic. Atrial fibrillation. June 2019. Available at https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/atrial-fibrillation/symptoms-causes/syc-20350624. Last accessed November 2020.

2. Morillo CA et al. J Geriat Cardiol 2017; 14: 195–203.

3. Stroke Association. Atrial fibrillation. Available at https://www.stroke.org.uk/what-is-stroke/are-you-at-risk-of-stroke/atrial-fibrillation. Last accessed November 2020.

4. Stroke Association. Atrial fibrillation (AF) and stroke. May 2019. Available at https://www.stroke.org.uk/sites/default/files/media-root/f26_atrial_fibrillation_and_stroke_v4_web.pdf . Last accessed November 2020.

5. NHS. Side effects. Anticoagulant medicines. May 2018. Available at https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/anticoagulants/side-effects/ . Last accessed November 2020.

PP-ELI-HKG-0633 JUN 2021

認識心房顫動
及早檢查心跳,
守護自然的健康心律

心房顫動 (又稱「房顫」) 是一種常見的心臟疾病。患者心臟上腔的各個地方會發出紊亂的電波,導致心律不規則,而且心跳往往過快(心律不正)。1–3

專題文章
sub_contnet_image
藥物治療

如已被確診患上房顫,病人可能需要接受治療來減低中風的風險,並同時服用藥物及/或 接受醫療程序,以治療房顫或其潛在病因。在此情況下,醫生可能會處方一種名為「口服 抗凝血藥」的藥物(又常稱為「薄血藥」)。 4

了解更多

sub_contnet_image
注意事項

正在服用抗凝血藥的病人可能會較容易出血。血栓可引致中風,而抗凝血藥能減慢血栓的形成,也能使新的血栓難以形成。因此服用抗凝血藥可能有助減低中風風險。 4 然而,病人亦可能會較容易出血(特別是跌倒或受傷的時候)。一旦出血,止血時間亦可能會較長。 4,5

了解更多

1. Mayo Clinic. Atrial fibrillation. June 2019. Available at https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/atrial-fibrillation/symptoms-causes/syc-20350624. Last accessed November 2020.

2. Morillo CA et al. J Geriat Cardiol 2017; 14: 195–203.

3. Stroke Association. Atrial fibrillation. Available at https://www.stroke.org.uk/what-is-stroke/are-you-at-risk-of-stroke/atrial-fibrillation. Last accessed November 2020.

4. Stroke Association. Atrial fibrillation (AF) and stroke. May 2019. Available at https://www.stroke.org.uk/sites/default/files/media-root/f26_atrial_fibrillation_and_stroke_v4_web.pdf . Last accessed November 2020.

5. NHS. Side effects. Anticoagulant medicines. May 2018. Available at https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/anticoagulants/side-effects/ . Last accessed November 2020.

PP-ELI-HKG-0632 JUN 2021