Medication for reducing the risk of stroke in patients with atrial fibrillation

If you have been diagnosed with atrial fibrillation – also known as AF or AFib – you may need treatment to help reduce your risk of a stroke together with medicines and/or procedures to treat your AF or its underlying cause. If this is the case, your doctor (a GP or a cardiologist) may prescribe you a type of medicine known as an oral anticoagulant, often called a ‘blood thinner’.1

Watch a short animation on how to reduce risk of an AF related stroke

AF increases your risk of a stroke as a result of blood clots forming

Anticoagulants do not treat the symptoms of AF. However, if your doctor prescribes an anticoagulant as part of your treatment plan, it is very important that you take it as directed by your healthcare team.1

If you stop taking your anticoagulant medication, your risk of having a stroke may increase

This happens because AF can prevent the heart from pumping blood efficiently around the body, even if you do not have any symptoms.1 The irregular contractions of the upper chambers of your heart (atria) caused by your AF may keep your heart from emptying properly before filling up with blood again. As a result, blood can pool in the upper chambers of the heart and form a thick blob, known as a blood clot.1 If this occurs and a clot – or bits of a clot – break loose, they can travel through the bloodstream towards your brain, blocking one of the arteries leading to your brain.1 Blood carries oxygen – and, if your brain does not receive enough blood because of this blockage, you may have a stroke.1 Blood clots in other parts of your body may also cause problems, but these can also be prevented with an anticoagulant.2

The most common signs and symptoms of a stroke can be recalled with the word FAST

These can be described as1,3

  • Face – your face, mouth or eye may drop on one side, or you may not be able to smile
  • Arms – you may feel weakness or numbness on one side of your body, making it difficult to lift and keep both arms up
  • Speech – your speech may become slurred or you may not be able to talk at all, and you may not understand what others are saying to you
  • Time – it is important to act quickly if you have any of these signs or symptoms

If you, or those around you, notice any of the signs or symptoms above – please call for immediate medical attention!

There are other symptoms, such as sudden problems with vision, confusion, problems with balance and coordination, a very severe and sudden headache, and loss of consciousness, difficulty swallowing, among others.3 However, other conditions may cause these symptoms apart from stroke.3 The symptoms of a stroke may vary from person to person but they usually begin suddenly.3

You should take these symptoms seriously and ask your healthcare team to teach you how to recognise them. It is important that your family and friends are also aware of these symptoms.

PP-ELI-GLB-0163_image

Anticoagulants do not actually thin the blood, as the expression ‘blood thinner’ may indicate. However, they do make it harder for blood clots to form, which may help reduce your risk of a stroke.4

Like most medicines, anticoagulants have some side effects

The most common side effect of an anticoagulant is that you bleed more easily, especially if you hurt yourself or fall.1,4 Other side effects include (among others):4

  • Blood in your urine
  • Bloody or black faeces
  • Intense bruising
  • Frequent nosebleeds
  • Bleeding gums, especially after brushing your teeth
  • Heavy periods, if you are a woman
  • Vomiting blood

Reading this list might feel frightening. However, it is important to look at the benefits of reducing the risk of stroke against these side effects. Your risk of bleeding will be assessed by your doctor before you decide together whether an anticoagulant is the most appropriate treatment for you.1 For most people, the benefits of taking an anticoagulant outweigh the risks from the side effects.1,4

Your doctor might offer you warfarin, or other type of oral anticoagulant1

The most commonly prescribed anticoagulant is warfarin – however, there are other types of anticoagulants.1,4

These medications are usually taken orally as a tablet or as a liquid.1,4 Your healthcare team will tell you how to take these medications and for how long.

You will need to have a regular blood test called international normalised ratio, also known as INR – especially over the first few weeks or months of your treatment.1,5 This test will help your doctor decide which dose of warfarin is appropriate for you.1,5

Your warfarin treatment is meant to help your blood flow through your veins more easily, making blood clots less likely to form. However, it should not keep your blood from clotting completely, as this may increase your risk of bleeding more easily.5 The INR test measures the time it takes for your blood to clot. If the time it takes for your blood to clot is too long, your INR will be high. This means that your current dose of warfarin has increased your risk of bleeding. As a result, your doctor will decrease the dose.1,5 In this way, the INR test will help your doctor find the dose of warfarin that is appropriate for you, so that it helps your blood flow easily but does not keep it from clotting completely.5

You should ask your healthcare team for advice on your diet while on anticoagulants.

While you are on warfarin, you also need to be mindful of your diet. Some foods can interfere with how warfarin works in your body.1,5 Because of this, you should ask your healthcare team for advice on your diet while on warfarin and always talk to them before you change your usual diet suddenly.1,5

You will not need to have a regular INR test and you are less likely to have dietary restrictions. For this reason, these medicines have become more popular. However, you may still need to take certain precautions when on other anticoagulants, such as taking your medicine with food or at certain times of day, depending on the medicine that you have been prescribed.6 It is important that you ask your doctor what the benefits and risks are for each medication.1

There are some additional precautions that you should take when on an anticoagulant

Ensure that you tell everyone in your healthcare team – including your dentist, pharmacist, and nurse – that you are taking an anticoagulant, and before you take any other medications – including prescription and over-the-counter medications – ask a pharmacist to confirm that there are no interactions between them.1,4

All anticoagulants may help reduce your risk of a stroke, but with several options available, it is important to discuss your treatment with your doctor.1 Continue to take your medications as prescribed, unless your doctor tells you to stop.1

1. Stroke Association. Atrial fibrillation (AF) and stroke. May 2019. Available at https://www.stroke.org.uk/sites/default/files/media-root/f26_atrial_fibrillation_and_stroke_v4_web.pdf. Last accessed November 2020. 

2. WebMD. Atrial Fibrillation and Blood Clots. Available at: https://www.webmd.com/heart-disease/atrial-fibrillation/atrial-fibrillation-blood-clots#:~:text=If%20you%20have%20atrial%20fibrillation,left%20part%2C%20of%20your%20heart. Last accessed May 2021.

3. NHS. Stroke − Symptoms. August 2019. Available at https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/stroke/symptoms/. Last accessed November 2020.

4. NHS. Overview. Anticoagulant medicines. May 2018. Available at https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/anticoagulants/. Last accessed November 2020.

5. NHS. Warfarin. April 2019. Available at https://www.nhs.uk/medicines/warfarin/. Last accessed November 2020.

6. Lane DA et al. Circulation. 2015; 131: e412 – e415

PP-ELI-HKG-0649 JUN 2021

藥物治療:
減低房顫患者中風風險

如被確診患上心房顫動(又稱「房顫」),病人可能需要接受治療來減低中風的風險,並同時服用藥物及/或接受醫療程序,以治療房顫或其潛在病因。在此情況下,醫生(普通科或心臟科醫生)可能會處方一種名為「口服抗凝血藥」的藥物(又常稱為「薄血藥」)1

觀看短片﹐了解如何減低房顫引發中風的風險

房顫導致血栓形成,增加中風風險

抗凝血藥不會治療房顫的症狀。然而,如果病人的治療方案包含抗凝血藥,緊記跟從醫護的指示服藥。1

自行停止服用抗凝血藥,可能會令中風風險增加

因為即使沒有任何症狀,房顫都可能會妨礙心臟有效地將血液泵至全身各處。1 房顫會導致心臟上腔(心房)收縮不規則,令心臟的血液未能在新一批血液流入之前完全流走。最終,血液可能會積聚在心臟上腔,形成厚塊,亦即「血栓」。1 在此情況下,血栓一旦整塊或部分脫落,它們可能會隨著血流到達腦部,堵塞腦部其中一條動脈。1 血液負責輸送氧氣,如果腦部因為動脈閉塞而未能接收足夠氧氣,便可能會導致中風。1 血栓流到身體其他部位亦可能帶來其他健康問題。然而,以上情況都可以靠抗凝血藥來預防。2

最常見的中風病徵及症狀可用「FAST」口訣概括

每個字母分別代1,3

  • 臉部 (Face):⼀側⾯部、嘴巴或眼睛可能會下垂,或未能微笑
  • 手臂 (Arms):身體其中一側麻痺或無力,難以舉高雙手及維持雙臂高舉的姿勢
  • 言語 (Speech):說話可能含糊不清,甚至無法言語,同時未能理解別人說話的意思
  • 及時 (Time):出現以上病徵或症狀時必須盡快行動

如果你或身邊的人發現上述任何病徵或症狀,請即致電999送院求醫!

其他中風症狀包括視力突然出現問題、迷亂、失去平衡及協調能力、頭部突然嚴重劇痛、失去意識、吞嚥困難等。3 然而,這些症狀也可能是由中風以外的健康問題造成。3 中風的症狀因人而異,但通常都是突如其來的。3 以上症狀不容忽視,請向醫護查詢如何識別它們。同時,你的家人和朋友都務必留意這些症狀。

test

雖然抗凝血藥又稱為「薄血藥」,但它實際上不會使血液變稀。它會令血栓難以形成,從而可能有助減低房顫病人的中風風險。4

抗凝血藥和大部分藥物一樣有若干副作用

抗凝血藥最常見的副作用是病人會較易出血,1,4 尤其是在受傷或跌倒的時候。其他副作用包括(但不限於):4

  • 小便帶血
  • 糞便帶血或呈黑色
  • 嚴重瘀傷
  • 經常流鼻血
  • 牙齦出血(尤其是刷牙後)
  • (女性患者)月經血量增多
  • 吐血等

這些副作用看起來很嚇人,然而,病人需要同時考慮抗凝血藥減低中風風險的好處。和醫生一起決定是否適合服用抗凝血藥之前,醫生會評估病人的出血風險。1 對絕大部分人而言,抗凝血藥帶來的好處勝過其副作用。1,4

醫生可能會處方華法林或其他口服抗凝血1

華法林是最常處方的抗凝血藥。然而,還有其他抗凝血藥可供選擇。1,4
這些藥物通常是口服藥片或口服液。1,4 醫護會告訴病人服藥的方法及時長。

病人需要定期抽血檢驗國際標準化比值,尤其是在療程開始後的頭數週或數月。1,5 此測試會幫助醫生決定適合的華法林劑量。1,5

華法林的作用是幫助血液在靜脈中暢通流動,減低血栓形成的機會。但它不應完全阻止血液凝固,因為這樣會令身體更容易出血。5 國際標準化比值測試是用來量度血液凝固的時間。如果凝血時間太長,國際標準化比值就會高,代表病人現時服用的華法林劑量增加了出血的風險。醫生會因此減少劑量。1,5 總括而言,國際標準化比值測試會幫助醫生為病人制定合適的華法林劑量,一方面能使血液流動暢通,另一方面不會完全阻止凝血。5

服用抗凝血藥期間,應向醫護查詢有關飲食習慣的建議。

服用華法林期間應注意飲食。有些食物會影響華法林的藥效。1,5 因此,病人應在服用華法林期間向醫護團隊查詢有關飲食習慣的建議,並在突然改變飲食習慣前事先與他們溝通。1,5

病人則無需定期抽血檢驗國際標準化比值,亦較少機會需要限制飲食。因此,這些藥物越來越普及。然而,在服用其他抗凝血藥的時候,可能仍需注意某些事項,例如要與食物同時服用或在特定時間服藥,具體事項視乎獲處方的藥物而定。6 請緊記向醫生查詢各種藥物的好處及其風險。1

此外,服用抗凝血藥期間亦要注意以下事項

如正在服用抗凝血藥,請務必告知整個醫療團隊(包括牙醫、藥劑師和護士)。服用抗凝血藥以外的處方或非處方藥物前,可向藥劑師查詢這些藥物之間是否有相互作用。1,4

所有抗凝血藥都可能幫助減低房顫病人的中風風險,但由於有數種藥物可供選擇,請與醫生商討治療方案。1 除非醫生指示停藥,否則應繼續按照指示服藥。1

1. Stroke Association. Atrial fibrillation (AF) and stroke. May 2019. Available at https://www.stroke.org.uk/sites/default/files/media-root/f26_atrial_fibrillation_and_stroke_v4_web.pdf. Last accessed November 2020. 

2. WebMD. Atrial Fibrillation and Blood Clots. Available at: https://www.webmd.com/heart-disease/atrial-fibrillation/atrial-fibrillation-blood-clots#:~:text=If%20you%20have%20atrial%20fibrillation,left%20part%2C%20of%20your%20heart. Last accessed May 2021.

3. NHS. Stroke − Symptoms. August 2019. Available at https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/stroke/symptoms/. Last accessed November 2020.

4. NHS. Overview. Anticoagulant medicines. May 2018. Available at https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/anticoagulants/. Last accessed November 2020.

5. NHS. Warfarin. April 2019. Available at https://www.nhs.uk/medicines/warfarin/. Last accessed November 2020.

6. Lane DA et al. Circulation. 2015; 131: e412 – e415.

PP-ELI-HKG-0648 JUN 2021