What if you have anticoagulant-related bleeding?

If you have been diagnosed with atrial fibrillation - also known as AF or AFib - your doctor (a GP or a cardiologist) may prescribe you an anticoagulant, often called a blood thinner, to reduce your risk of stroke caused by AF.1,2

sub_page_11_WebP

If you are on anticoagulants, you may bleed more easily

Anticoagulants are used to slow down the formation of blood clots that cause strokes. They can also make it harder for new blood clots to form. This may help reduce your risk of a stroke.1 However, this also means that you may bleed more easily- especially if you fall or hurt yourself - and any bleeding, if it happens, may take longer to stop.1,3
For example, if you bump into something, your bruising may be more severe than before you took an anticoagulant.3
If you are bothered by the look of bruising, you are not alone – lots of people on anticoagulants worry about bruising, so sharing experiences can help.

Bleeding can occur in different parts of your body

You may notice more bleeding than usual in your:3,4

  • Nose
  • Gums
  • Urine - as bright pink, red or dark brown blood5
  • Stools - as bright red, dark brown, or tarry black stools6
  • Vomit - as bright red or dark brown vomit, looking like coffee grounds7
  • Cough
  • Heavier menstrual periods, if you are a woman

You should tell your doctor about any bleeding that you may have.3
If you, or those around you, notice any dark brown blood in your urine or vomit, or a black, tarry stool – please seek medical help immediately.6 Your healthcare team will know what to do.

You may also bleed more easily within your body, especially after an injury or during a surgery. Internal bleeding may occur in different areas of your body6 and it can be particularly dangerous if it occurs in the brain, as this may cause another type of stroke called haemorrhagic stroke. However, bleeding in the brain is typically rare.1

Symptoms of internal bleeding depend on where the bleeding is coming from. If you have bleeding in your head you may feel weakness or numbness, usually on one side of your body, tingling, especially in your hands and feet, a severe, sudden headache, or loss of balance and coordination, among others. However, if you notice any dark blood in your urine or vomit, or a dark, tarry stool, this may be a sign of internal bleeding in your chest or abdomen. Likewise, an unexpected pain or swelling may be caused by Internal bleeding in your muscles or joints.6

You should ask your doctor about the symptoms of internal bleeding and seek medical help immediately if you have any these symptoms. Your healthcare team will know what is the most appropriate treatment for you. Although bleeding can be worrying, you can rest assured that it is one of the things your doctor will be keeping a specific eye on.1,6

Watch a short animation on what if you have anticoagulant-related bleeding

You can take a few steps to minimise your risk of bleeding when on an anticoagulant

Knowing what you can do to minimise bleeds will help you feel more prepared. These are some of steps that you can take:

  • Be extra careful or use a knuckle shield when preparing food
  • Use an anti-slip bath mat
  • Use a softer toothbrush to protect gums
  • Always wear gloves when gardening or doing other activities where you can get hurt, such as making repairs at home

When you first start taking an anticoagulant you may receive a pack from your doctor or clinic with an anticoagulation alert card. Remember to carry the anticoagulation alert card wherever you go, including when you are travelling. This is very important! If you are ever in an emergency situation, your alert card will tell the person treating you that you are on an anticoagulant. They will know what to do when treating you.1,4

  • Make sure you always tell everyone in your healthcare team – including your doctor, dentist, and nurse prior to having any procedure done, or pharmacist when having prescriptions filled – that you are taking an anticoagulant1,3
  • Before you take any other medications - including prescription medicines, over-the-counter medications, and herbal supplements - always ask your doctor or pharmacist if there are any interactions between your anticoagulant and those medications1,3
  • Aspirin may make you more likely to bleed when taken while you are on an anticoagulant1 – you should always let your healthcare team know if you are taking aspirin for any other medical reason, such as a previous heart attack, or even if you take it occasionally for headaches or fever1
  • If you are on a commonly prescribed anticoagulant called warfarin your dentist should check your recent INR result before carrying out any dental treatment to decide whether or not you should stop taking warfarin beforehand1
  • If you are on other type of anticoagulant your doctor may instruct you to stop your medication for up to 48 hours before your dental treatment and start your anticoagulant again, as appropriate after your dental treatment8
  • If you are on warfarin and have a planned surgery, your doctor may instruct you to stop taking your anticoagulant 5 days before your surgery and start taking it again immediately after your surgery9
  • If you are on other type of anticoagulant, your doctor may instruct you to stop your medication for up to 48 hours before your surgery and start taking your anticoagulant again immediately after your surgery8

Eating a healthy, well-balanced diet is great for you, as it may reduce your risk of stroke due to AF. If you are being prescribed an anticoagulant, make sure you speak to your healthcare provider to understand any dietary modifications you may need to make.1,4

Alcohol increases your risk of having a serious bleed. Therefore, you should always keep your consumption of alcohol to a minimum while on an anticoagulant.1

If you cannot get bleeding to stop, or if you are worried that something is wrong, please contact your doctor straight away.1

1. Stroke Association. Atrial fibrillation (AF) and stroke. May 2019. Available at https://www.stroke.org.uk/sites/default/files/media-root/f26_atrial_fibrillation_and_stroke_v4_web.pdf. Last accessed November 2020.

2. NHS. Atrial fibrillation, treatment. Available at https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/atrial-fibrillation/treatment/. Last accessed May 2021.

3. NHS. Side effects. Anticoagulant medicines. May 2018. Available at https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/anticoagulants/side-effects/. Last accessed November 2020.

4. NHS. Warfarin. April 2019. Available at https://www.nhs.uk/medicines/warfarin/. Last accessed November 2020.

5. NHS. Blood in urine. Available at https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/blood-in-urine/. Last accessed November 2020.

6. Healthline. Internal Bleeding: Causes, Treatments, and More. Available at https://www.healthline.com/health/internal-bleeding. Last accessed November 2020.

7. NHS. Vomiting blood (haematemesis). Available at https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/vomiting-blood/. Last accessed November 2020.

8. Steffel J et al. Europace 2021;00:1-65.

9. Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. MIL Volume 10, No. 5. Available at https://www.ouh.nhs.uk/services/referrals/specialist-medicine/documents/mil-v10-n5.pdf. Last accessed May 2021.

PP-ELI-HKG-0653 JUN 2021

抗凝血藥出血風險管理

如被確診患有心房顫動(又稱「房顫」),普通科或心臟科醫生可能會為病人處方抗凝血藥(又常稱為「薄血藥」),以減低因房顫而導致中風的風險。1,2

test

正在服用抗凝血藥的病人可能會較容易出血

血栓可引致中風,而抗凝血藥能減慢血栓的形成,也能使新的血栓難以形成。因此服用抗凝血藥可能有助減低中風風險。1 然而,病人亦可能會較容易出血(特別是跌倒或受傷的時候)。一旦出血,止血時間亦可能會較長。1-3
例如撞倒後,身體上的瘀傷可能會比服用抗凝血藥前嚴重。3

身體不同部位均有機會出血

病人可能留意到以下出血情況增多﹕3,4

  • 流鼻血
  • 牙齦出血
  • 小便帶血,尿液呈鮮粉紅色、紅色或深啡5
  • 糞便呈鮮紅色、深啡色或黑色柏油6
  • 吐血,嘔吐物呈鮮紅或深啡色,狀似咖啡7
  • 咳血
  • 月經血量增多(女性患者)

如有任何出血情況,請告知醫生。3
如你或身邊的人發現尿液或嘔吐物帶有深啡色的血液,又或者糞便呈黑色柏油狀,請立即求醫。6 醫護團隊會知道如何處理這種情況。

另外,病人體內也會比較容易出血,特別是在手術後或手術期間。身體不同部位均有機會發生內出血。6 如果是腦部出血,情況尤其危險,因為它可能會導致另一種中風,即「出血性中風」,但腦部出血一般較為罕見。1

內出血的症狀視乎出血部位而有所不同。如果是腦部出血,可能出現以下症狀,包括﹕感到無力或麻痺(通常是身體其中一邊)、刺痛(特別是手腳)、頭部突然劇痛、失去平衡及協調能力等。然而,如果發現尿液或嘔吐物帶有深色血液,或者發現糞便呈深色柏油狀,這可能是胸口或腹部內出血的徵兆。肌肉或關節內出血亦可能會造成不明痛楚或腫脹。6

如欲了解內出血症狀之詳情,請向醫生查詢。如果出現上述任何症狀,應立即求醫。醫護團隊會知道最適合病人的治療方案。雖然出血令人擔憂,但毋須過分顧慮,醫生會密切留意病人的出血情況。1,6

觀看短片﹐了解如何處理因服用抗凝血藥導致出血

服用抗凝血藥期間,可以採取一些措施將出血風險減至最低。

知道如何減低出血會令人更安心。以下是一些可以採取的措施﹕

  • 處理食材時應加倍小心,或使用護指器
  • 使用浴室防滑墊
  • 使用軟毛牙刷,以保護牙齦
  • 處理園藝、家居維修等活動容易令雙手受傷。進行此類活動時,應時刻戴上手套

第一次獲處方抗凝血藥時,醫生或診所可能會為病人提供一張抗凝血藥提示卡。請緊記隨身攜帶此提示卡,包括出外旅遊時。這一點尤其重要!一旦遇上緊急狀況,醫護人員可透過此提示卡得知病人正在服用抗凝血藥,並知道如何治療。1,4

  • 如正在服用抗凝血藥,請務必告知相關醫護人員﹕接受任何醫療程序前告知醫生、牙醫及護士﹔配藥時告知藥劑1,3
  • 服用任何藥物前,無論是處方藥物、非處方藥物,還是草本補充劑,請務必向醫生或藥劑師查詢這些藥物與抗凝血藥的相互作1,3
  • 阿士匹靈與抗凝血藥一同服用時會令身體較容易出血。1 因此,無論是因為其他健康原因(如曾經心臟病發作)而服用阿士匹靈,還是在頭痛或發燒時才偶爾服用,都要告知醫護團1
  • 如果正服用華法林,牙科醫生在進行任何牙科治療前,都應該檢查病人最近的國際標準化比值,再決定是否需要事先停1
  • 如果服用的是其他抗凝血藥,牙科醫生可能會指示病人在接受牙科治療前最多48小時開始停藥,並在治療後適當時間再次用8
  • 如果正在服用華法林,並且已計劃接受手術,醫生會指示病人在手術前五天開始停藥,並在手術後立即再次用9
  • 如果服用的是其他抗凝血藥,醫生可能會指示病人在手術前最多48小時開始停藥,並在手術後立即再次用8

均衡飲食可降低房顫引發中風的風險。如獲處方抗凝血藥,請向醫護服務人員查詢是否需要在飲食上作出任何調節。1,4

酒精會增加嚴重出血的風險。因此,服用抗凝血藥期間應盡量減少飲酒。1

如果流血不止或有任何擔憂,請立即聯絡醫生。1

1. Stroke Association. Atrial fibrillation (AF) and stroke. May 2019. Available at https://www.stroke.org.uk/sites/default/files/media-root/f26_atrial_fibrillation_and_stroke_v4_web.pdf. Last accessed November 2020.

2. NHS. Atrial fibrillation, treatment. Available at https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/atrial-fibrillation/treatment/. Last accessed May 2021.

3. NHS. Side effects. Anticoagulant medicines. May 2018. Available at https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/anticoagulants/side-effects/. Last accessed November 2020.

4. NHS. Warfarin. April 2019. Available at https://www.nhs.uk/medicines/warfarin/. Last accessed November 2020.

5. NHS. Blood in urine. Available at https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/blood-in-urine/. Last accessed November 2020.

6. Healthline. Internal Bleeding: Causes, Treatments, and More. Available at https://www.healthline.com/health/internal-bleeding. Last accessed November 2020.

7. NHS. Vomiting blood (haematemesis). Available at https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/vomiting-blood/. Last accessed November 2020.

8. Steffel J et al. Europace 2021;00:1-65.

9. Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. MIL Volume 10, No. 5. Available at https://www.ouh.nhs.uk/services/referrals/specialist-medicine/documents/mil-v10-n5.pdf. Last accessed May 2021.

PP-ELI-HKG-0652 JUN 2021